Cut.in 2012

The 5th


Student Film Festival

December 14 – 15, 2012.


Jury: Anik Ghosh, Avijit Mukul Kishore and Anjali Monteiro

Jury Report: The jury’s verdict was unanimous and we were happy to see the wide range of subjects and narrative styles that the films explored both in the documentary and short fiction sections.
The shortlisted films bear witness to the innovative and inventive use of the film medium to communicate
and to provoke audiences to engage with the world around them. Some of the broad
themes which emerged included consumerism and commercialisation, state sponsored violence, and the creativity and resilience of marginalised groups. The jury would like to commend the organisers of this festival for their sustained efforts to showcase student work from across the country. We recommend that a travelling package consisting of the award-winning films be created and circulated to various institutions and screening spaces. This would go a long way in promoting student work that engages meaningfully with contemporary society.


Gold to Satchith Paulose for Give us this day our daily bread
Silver to Prachee Bajania for Vikaas Chaalu Che
Special Mention to Esha Paul and Sushovan for Dirty Picture Hall

Short Fiction
Gold to Abhilash for Dwand
Silver to Mugil Chandran for Naigal Jakirathai
Special Mention to Piyush Thakur for Khara Karodpati
Special Mention to Ananya Kasaravalli for Wasiyat nama

FES Commons

Gold to Ashwin for River
Silver to Aparna, Ananta Krishnan and Abijit for Save Water
Special Mention to Ashwin, Pooja, Sneha for Save Trees

Technical Awards
Gold to Panchabhuta
Silver to Skylab is falling

Gold to Vikaas Chaalu Che
Silver to Dwand

Sound Design
Gold to Dwand
Silver to Give us this day our daily bread


Greetings from School of Media and Cultural Studies, TISS!

We, at the School, are organising the 5th Cut.In National Student Film Festival on the 15th and 16th December. We cordially invite you to attend festival which is at the Conference Hall, 6th floor, Library Building, TISS, Main Campus, Sion-Trombay Rd, opp Deonar Bus Depot.

This year the Cut.In festival received close to 70 entries from students of diploma, graduate and post graduate programmes in film and media affiliated with institutions across India. 32 films under the categories of Short Fiction (under 45 min) and Short Documentary (under 45 min) have been selected for screening at the festival. The jury members for this year are filmmakers Avijit Mukul Kishore, Anik Ghosh and Anjali Monteiro, Dean, SMCS.

This year the School, in collaboration with the Foundation for Ecological Security (FES), is introducing a special competitive category, the Cut.In-FES Gold and Silver Prize for the Best Film on the theme of 'Commons'. The objective of this video competition is to create awareness on the issue of 'Commons' and encourage citizens to take action to protect, preserve and manage their common cultural and natural resources.

On December 17 from 10 am to 12 noon, the festival will feature a series of films titled "Remembering 1992" made by the Masters students and the faculty of the School. This series seeks to revisit the city of Mumbai, twenty years after the communal violence of 1992-93 that rented the city's secular fabric asunder. In a situation where justice
has been elusive and the collective amnesia profound, the series attempts to remember and reflect on the events of that tragic period and their aftermath. The trailers of these films could be seen here:


This national level festival aims to encourage talent among students, not only from the realm of media education but also from other disciplines. The festival seeks to address a felt need for a platform where student work can be showcased. Two prizes, consisting of a trophy and a citation, will be given in each category. In addition, there are prizes for Best Direction, Cinematography, Editing and Sound Design. Acclaimed filmmaker Jahnu Barua will inaugurate the festival on 15th December at 12:00 pm and Aamir Bashir (actor and Director of Harud) will give away the awards on December 16 at 6.15 pm.
Detailed festival schedule available here.